As the Shadow Rises

The Age of Darkness #2

Katy Rose Pool

fiction Fantasy Young Adult
adventurous mysterious fast-paced

Close
Buy As the Shadow Rises

United States
Bookshop US

Other countries
Bookshop UK
Blackwell's

The StoryGraph is an affiliate of the featured links. We earn commission on any purchases made.

Six of Crows meets Graceling with a dash of Winter is Coming in this second installment of the action-packed and swoon-worthy Age of Darkness series!

The Last Prophet has been found, yet he sees destruction ahead.

In this sequel to the critically-acclaimed There Will Come a Darkness, kingdoms have begun to fall to a doomsday cult, the magical Graced are being persecuted, and an ancient power threatens to break free. But with the world hurtling toward its prophesized end, Anton’s haunting vision reveals the dangerous beginnings of a plan to stop the Age of Darkness.

As Jude, Keeper of the Order of the Last Light, returns home in disgrace, his quest to aid the Prophet is complicated by his growing feelings for Anton. Meanwhile, the assassin known as the Pale Hand will stop at nothing to find her undead sister before she dies for good, even if it means letting the world burn. And in Nazirah, Hassan, the kingdom-less Prince, forms a risky pact to try to regain his throne. When the forces of light and darkness collide in the City of Mercy, old wounds are reopened, new alliances are tested, and the end of the world begins.

The Age of Darkness trilogy, which the Amazon Book Review called "the next big fantasy series," is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

What the community thinks

summary of 16 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

adventurous 100%
tense 71%
emotional 57%
dark 28%
funny 14%
hopeful 14%
mysterious 14%

Pace

fast 57%
medium 42%

Strong character development?

Yes: 85% | It's complicated: 14%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 71% | It's complicated: 28%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters centre-stage?

Yes: 100%

Average rating

4.39
Close

The StoryGraph has a mobile app! 🎉

Find out more