I am Akbar Agha: Memories of the Afghan Jihad and the Taliban

Alex Strick van Linschoten, Anand Gopal, Sayyed Mohammad Akbar Agha, Felix Kuehn

informative reflective slow-paced

Close
Buy I am Akbar Agha: Memories of the Afghan Jihad and the Taliban

United States
Bookshop US

Other countries
Bookshop UK
Blackwell's

The StoryGraph is an affiliate of the featured links. We earn commission on any purchases made.

Following in the tradition of Mullah Zaeef’s My Life With the Taliban, Akbar Agha’s memoir tells a story of war, friendship and political intrigue. Starting in 1980s Kandahar, the difficulties and successes of the mujahedeen come through clearly as Akbar Agha struggles to administer a group of fighters. He details the different groups fighting in Kandahar, their cooperation and the scale of the Soviet Union’s efforts to crush them. Not directly a participant in the Taliban government that ruled post-1994, Akbar Agha offers a sometimes-critical account of the administration built by many of his former fighters. After the fall of the Islamic Emirate in 2001, Akbar Agha was involved in the Jaish ul-Muslimeen opposition group and for the first time he has revealed his account of what happened in the kidnapping of UN aid workers. I Am Akbar Agha ends with an analysis of the problems afflicting Afghanistan and outlines a vision for the political future of the country post-elections and post-2015. Anand Gopal has written an introduction to the book.

What the community thinks

summary of 1 rating

Average rating

5.0
Close

The StoryGraph has a mobile app! 🎉

Find out more